Ayurveda

Ayurveda is a holistic medical approach practised in India for more than 4000 years. Susruta, an ayurvedic healer who lived approx. 100 a.d., is viewed today as the Father of Surgery. Ayurvedic medicine is still practised in India alongside traditional western medicine. It is taught at university and applied in hospitals.

A holistic approach towards treatment of disease is in many ways beneficial. Treament should not only deal with warning symptoms, but should also eliminate the causes of disease. The result should be a lasting improvement of well-being.

The aim of Ayurvedic medicine therefore, is to reduce all disease-causing factors of life (wrong diet, strenuous working methods and way of life) so that the body gets a chance to heal itself. Pharmaceutical preparations can aid in this process.

The Ayurvedic discipline describes many medicinal plants. In India some of these plants are used to make tablets, capsules or powders, according to modern pharmaceutical procedures, e.g. Mucuna pruriens (Cowhage bean).

Compared to synthetic drugs, herbal preparations are made of a complex mixture of substances. Some of the substances help to reduce side effects and increase the desired effects, thus minimizing the applied dosage.

Why this is so is not wholly understood. One possible explanation could lie within the evolutionary context, where plants and animals have common ancestors. Thus the mixture of a plant extract could be a "system" that in evolutionary terms is "known" to the body and can be integrated much better by the organism.

Ayurveda

Ayurveda ist eine ganzheitliche, aus dem indischen Altertum überlieferte Medizin. Sie ist über 4000 Jahre alt. Ihr entstammt unter anderem der Gelehrte Susruta: Er gilt als der "Vater der Chirurgie" (1. Jahrhundert nach Christus). Die Ayurvedische Medizin findet nach wie vor in Indien Anwendung und wird parallel zur westlichen Schulmedizin an Universitäten gelehrt und in Krankenhäusern angewendet.

Bei der ganzheitlichen Behandlung von Krankheiten werden nicht nur die warnenden Symptome, sondern auch Ernährung, Arbeitssituation und Lebensweise berücksichtigt. Parallel zur arzneilichen Behandlung werden die krank machenden Ursachen verringert. So wird dem Körper die Chance zur Selbstheilung gegeben, und das gesamte Wohlbefinden wird nachhaltig verbessert.

Aus der ayurvedischen Medizin sind viele Heilpflanzen überliefert, die heute nach modernen pharmazeutischen Verfahren für arzneiliche Zwecke in Indien aufbereitet werden, beispielsweise das standardisierte Pulver aus der Mucuna pruriens, der Juckbohne. Wir beraten Sie hierzu gerne.

Gegenüber synthetischen Monosubstanzen liegt bei pflanzlichen Arzneizubereitungen ein Wirkstoffgemisch vor. Häufig unterstützen die Begleitstoffe den Hauptwirkstoff in seiner Wirkung, somit kann die Dosis verringert werden. Das senkt die Nebenwirkungen enorm.

Überhaupt werden natürliche Wirkstoffgemische vom Körper besser vertragen. Das könnte darauf zurückzuführen sein, dass Pflanzen und Tiere evolutionsgeschichtlich aus miteinander verwandten Organismen entstanden sind. Somit sind die Naturstoffsysteme des Pflanzenextraktes dem Menschen gewissermaßen über seine Entstehungsgeschichte "bekannte Stoffsysteme", die sich in ihrer komplexen Zusammensetzung besser in das lebende System des Organismus einfügen.